Chia Pots – The Perfect Office Breakfast

Makes 4 pots. 115 calories per pot (plus whatever fruit you add)

Chia. Looks like frogspawn, tastes like pretty much anything you put in it, so you can make it as yum as you want.

When I first started calorie counting, to get my BMI to a place the NHS would be happier with, I was having an apple a day for breakfast (avg 65 calories). It was nice – but not exactly varied – so I started looking for ting to make a change with.

I’d seen strange, grey, jelly like chia before, but hadn’t tried it, but I’m glad I did – I’m having it for breakfast around 4 days a week now!

What you need:

  • 0.5 cups dry chia seeds
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • o.5 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 0.5 teaspoon of ground fresh cardamom
  • You can substitute the spices for whatever you like. I’ve enjoyed allspice, rose water, and nutmeg so far. 
  • Option A: Fruit to top. I haven’t included this in my 115 calorie count, but as a guide raspberries 53 cal /100g, grapes 67 cal /100g, blueberries 57cal / 100g. I usually find 50g mixed fruit is enough. 
  • Option B: toasted almonds and coconut to top. I haven’t included this in my 115 calorie count.

It’s really (really) simple:

  • Measure your chia into a mixing bowl
  • Add your dry spices
  • Add all of the milk and mix together as thoroughly as possible
  • Leave for 10 mins, then mix again. By now the dry seeds will have started turning more jelly like
  • Cover and put in the fridge for at least 3 hours, but ideally over night
  • Measure out serving by serving and add the stooping of your choice
  • Take to work, clear some space for a calm, healthy breakfast.
  • Make your colleagues jealous

 

15183971_10157778707810331_1341983369_o

Leave a Reply

