Redcurrant Sorbet

A day of foraging left me with more redcurrants than I could reasonably just sit and eat, so I was left with the perennial harvesters question – what exactly am I going to do with all of this now that I have it?

I thought about making a jam or a jelly, but then I thought no way! It’s summer and I’m going to make my first sorbet. So I did. And it was easy, so now you can too.

I don’t have an ice-cream maker, so this is a simple no churn recipe, so double good.

What you need:

  • 750 grams redcurrants (including the stalks, seeds and everything else)
  • 500 grams white sugar
  • zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 75 ml Cointreau (you can do it without, but the alcohol stops it totally freezing)
  • 500ml water

It’s surprisingly simple:

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C
  • Take your redcurrants, seeds, skin, stalks and all and add them to a baking dish. Cover with the sugar and the juice and zest of the orange.
  • Give it a little shake to make sure things are pretty evenly spread out, cover with foil, and put in the oven for around 50 minutes, until the redcurrant juice and sugar have made a syrup.

_IGP5048

_IGP5053

_IGP5058

_IGP5059

_IGP5067

  • Take the berries out of the oven and allow to cool for a few minutes.
  • Strain everything in the pan through a fine sieve. At first the syrup will just run through, but continue to crush the berries against the sieve – you’ll be surprised by how much comes through if you try hard.

DSC08761

DSC08765

  • When you’ve strained until you can’t any more, add 75ml of Cointreau to the bowl and mix well.

DSC08785

  • I didn’t add water to mine, and after two days of going back to the freezer to check and reporting ‘it’s still just cold jam‘ I came up with water as a solution. Add 500ml of water to the mixture and mix well, then put into two freezer proof bowls with lids and put in the freezer.

DSC08797

  • If, like me, you’re not using an ice-cream machine (there’s no need to) just go back every 3 or 4 ours to give it a stir to stop big crystals forming. You can be a little more lax about this after the first couple of stirs, nothing bad will happen.

DSC09356

  • Now you have sorbet. It’s the nicest sorbet in the world. Eat all of the sorbet!

DSC09359

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rae says:

    Redcurrants’ are such an underrated fruit! love this! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Salivating as I read this……Totally going on my recipes to try list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

