Unemployment By Numbers

Infographic unemployment job hunt job search interview weight gain new job

Sadly, all good things must come to an end. Luckily, so must all rubbish things – like being unemployed.

29 days after packing my things and leaving my old office, I accepted an offer for a great new job. A job that I’m super excited about for an incredible, innovative advertising agency where I really think I’m going to be learning a lot and making a real contribution. Their motto is ‘Be Brave’ and that’s an attitude I think I’ll benefit from. I couldn’t be happier.

11736988_10155842979800331_1411813423_n

It does mean a break up with unemployment though. It’s true, we both got into this knowing that it was a short term thing. We didn’t promise each other anything. Really, we should be happy for each other.

Being unemployed was a lot of hard work. It was emotionally fraught, it was stressful and it took hours of work to set up each interview. But, in the end, it all paid off.

I had worried that I was acting like a Millennial stereotype and letting my demands to have everything immediately skew my vision of my capabilities. So I scaled back my expectations; I stopped applying for Project Manager Jobs. I stopped even searching for Project Manager jobs, and I accepted that it would be a few more years of paying dues I got there.

I had one Project Manager application out in the eather, but mentally dismissed it.  It wasn’t for me, not yet.

And then they called me.

We had a phone interview, and it went well. They asked me to do a presentation on a brief, and it went well. I went back to meet the companies founder, and it went very well.

I start my new job soon, and I’m massively excited, but I didn’t want to forget all of the hard work that I put in to finding it. So I made (my first ever) infographic. Because now, I can do anything.

So now, although my fling with unemployment has run its course, I won’t be leaving you. Not at all. I’m going to carry on sharing everything just as I have been doing. We’re only just getting to know each other.

I might need to think of a new name though.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Like

Leave a Reply

