All Good Things Are Wild and Free(lance)

When I left my job, as I saw it I had two options: commit to a quarter life crisis or call some recruiters. So I poured a G&T and got on the phone – because as my CV will attest, I’m a fantastic multi-tasker

In the last couple of weeks I’ve had a lot of meetings with a lot of recruiters. It seemed like an efficient way of getting maximum outreach and advice from people who know what they’re doing. I was half right.

Some of them have been great, others not so much. Most meetings have lasted 15-20 minutes, one lasted almost 2 hours. Some have given me great advice while others just haven’t been interested at all. One gave me two mini bottles of very cold water on the hottest day of the year – they were almost my favourites.

There have been a lot of differences, but there was one thing that they all had in common: they all expressed a burning desire for me to go Freelance. It’s their one true wish.

Now, I know that recruiters are not offering a truly altruistic service – they want to make their commission and maybe freelance work is the best way for them to go about it. But how much more lucrative can it really be than a full time position? I honestly have no idea.

I do kind of like the idea of breezing into an office as the mysterious stranger, brought in to solve a problem that no one else could manage before disappearing into the night to spend my day rate earnings. But I feel that the reality might be something closer to getting lost on the way to a new office, having to hot desk because I won’t be there long enough to settle down, and then disappearing to sort out my own taxes. The reality might just be a lot less glamorous than the image.

I think, for the time being I’ll keep my mind, and options open. It’s not my first choice, but it is tempting in its own way – how bad can it be to be wild and free?

The graffiti I saw on the way home seemed to agree.

free

Leave a Reply

