Do I have to tell my mum?

Since I’ve been treating this as a short term relationship with unemployment, a fling at most, I haven’t got round to telling my mum.

Introducing a new relationship to your parents legitimises it, it turns it into a real thing and I’m not sure I want to make that much of a commitment to unemployment. I’ve been going out with my boyfriend for the best part of two years. We live together. He’s never met my mum.

On the other hand, she might call me and ask how my day has gone and then I’ll have to either lie and make up a story about Emma from Finance, or be caught off guard and blurt out the truth. So maybe it would be better to do it on my own terms?

It’s the hottest day of the year so far – it’s expected to reach 34Degrees and now, at 9am it’s 25DegreesC. Radio 4, my faithful companion, is teaching us all about ‘how to pull the perfect sicky on a day like today.’ This is not something I need to learn – being out of work is putting me at odds with all of the usual relationships in my life. I suppose as having a fling is prone to do.

I think for the time being, I’ll send my mum some photos of how well my house plants are coming along. The rest will come when it’s ready. I guess.

Leave a Reply

